Skip to content

The Tyranny of Evidence

August 31, 2009

I was raised as, and became, a conservative fundamentalist Christian. Twenty-four years later I am an evolutionist and atheist. The reason this transition was capable is because throughout my life I’ve held one belief above all others. I am a staunch believer in the tyranny of evidence. The evidence I had available in my youth led me to believe what my parents told me about the universe. When contradicting evidence arose I strove to understand it and adopted the most logically sound position.

I am a natural skeptic, when I get an email forward making claims the first place I go to is Snopes, the second is the Almighty Google. If something “spooky” happens I do my best to debunk it rather than assume it was something supernatural. I constantly search for the most rational world-view based on the evidence at hand, always looking for more. I’ve even cast aside many positions that held an emotional value to me. If the current evidence does not agree with what I would like to be true, I accept the truth like a big boy and move on. What is true cannot be changed by well-wishing or begging. The truth is an immovable object.

I believe in the tyranny of evidence. Do you?

3 Comments
  1. August 31, 2009 10:07 am

    I demand evidence that you use snopes.com to check email claims!

    (OMFSM, you blogged!)

    • August 31, 2009 11:07 am

      I know right? I’m trying to get outta my rut. We’ll see how things go.

  2. Proud Kuffar permalink
    August 31, 2009 2:38 pm

    Thou art rightful. Live long and prosper!

Comments are closed.

