Skip to content

Forums Are Headaches Waiting To Happen

April 2, 2009

So I’m trying to conduct some unscientific polling in a few religious forums to determine the main reasons why atheists are so disliked. I get this conclusion from this study.

So far, I’m find this effort incredibly annoying. This is what I post:

I’m conducting research on why atheists are so hated by the American populace and I’d like to hear why you think they are viewed so negatively. I understand that many of you don’t have any hard feelings against atheists, so please don’t feel the need to defend yourself, I mean no offense to anyone.

So why do you think atheists are the most hated and least trusted minority in America?

First of all, moderators on Christian forums are Nazis. Every new topic has to be given a look over by the resident fuhrer.

You are receiving this notification because your topic “Why Are Atheists So
Hated?” at “Christian Forums” was disapproved by a moderator or
administrator.

The following reason was given for the disapproval:

The reported post does not fit into any other category, please use the
further information field.

Potential confrontation due to assumption of “hate”.

Oh noes, hate is too strong of a word to use, so I’ll have to reword it and wait another six hours for some moderator to deny it for some other reason.

Second of all, every Christian who doesn’t have any hard feelings against atheists wants to defend themselves when I told them I understand they exist.

Of course, every atheist that peruses these forums want give their own reasons why they think they are hated:

Atheists are disliked because they engage their critical thinking skills and refuse to be indoctrinated in a dogmatic belief system that has absolutely no archeological, historical, biographical, or scientific evidence to support it.

Which is clearly speculation and does me no good. I guess I have to figure out a better way formulate this question.

Argh..

7 Comments
  1. April 2, 2009 11:34 pm

    Good luck! Sounds like you’re going to come up against a wall of defensiveness even if you do make it into the forum. Personally, I take that as an admittance of guilt – you know, say one thing, behave differently.

    • April 3, 2009 1:42 am

      As of note:
      christianforums.net wouldn’t let me ask the question because it would “stir the pot”.

      • April 3, 2009 7:23 am

        Sisyphus, you know you shouldn’t disturb the sheep. They’re so easily frightened and scatter.

  2. April 2, 2009 11:49 pm

    Maybe if you substitute the word ‘unpopular’ and briefly cite some concrete evidence, for example, the fact that most Americans would not vote for an atheist in a political campaign.

    Or you could take a different approach. Rather than stating a conclusion up front (atheists are hated) and then asking people why they think your conclusion is true, you can simply ask them how they feel about atheists without presupposing any particular answer.

    • April 2, 2009 11:57 pm

      This is my new post:

      “A few years ago, there was a survey done* that came to the conclusion that atheists were the least trusted minority in America, you can read into this that we are also flat out disliked. I’m attempting to conduct a nonscientific poll to help me understand the major reasons why this is. I’ve been attempting to get useful replies from general religious forums but their members seem to be more interested in bickering with each other rather than answer some of my questions. Any posts I submit turn into back and forth hate-o-thons.

      For those of you who dislike or are of a less than positive opinion of atheists I would like to hear your opinions on the matter. Why do people have such a problem with atheists as an entire group?

      For those of you who have no qualms with atheists there is no need for you to respond to defend yourselves, I only need the opinions of people offering criticism. I merely want to better understand why atheists are so negatively viewed. I’m not looking for any fights or anything like that, I’m here to seek genuine opinions and that is all. Thanks ahead of time for any replies.

      *http://www.mndaily.com/2009/02/22/survey-us-trust-lowest-atheists”

      We’ll see if it makes it through.

  3. April 3, 2009 9:45 am

    Try the Amazon.com religion community/forum.

  4. April 4, 2009 7:08 pm

    You could always make it more general, or vague as to what you are going for.

    What about “How do you feel about atheists?”

    or “What are your personal feelings toward people who are atheists?”

Comments are closed.

