Skip to content

Video: When You Really Want Something To Be True..

March 17, 2009

You skew the data to a ridiculous level..

I really don’t like posting videos on my blog but I think the kind of people who come across my blog should take a look at this video. It’s an interview done by Michael Shermer with Georgia Purdom PhD (molecular genetics) at the Creation Museum in Kentucky where she works. The level of confirmation bias and cognitive dissonance these people have to go through to stay the course is beyond me. So if you have the time, please watch this interview.

(via SuperJesus)

12 Comments
  1. March 17, 2009 2:50 am

    Nice video clip. I wonder though how she got a PhD in a biological science and still be able to say “they’re still bacteria” with a straight face. Can someone with an advanced degree in biology not know the difference between descent with modification and saltation? Apparently… which is sad.

  2. Colloquy permalink
    March 17, 2009 6:45 am

    ” …Even a one year old is a guilty sinner … “

    What a bitch. He was very patient with her … I couldn’t have done it.

  3. March 17, 2009 11:33 am

    Oye, I had to plug my ears with tissue to keep my brain from leaking out!

    I think it’s the height of arrogance to say that those who rationalized slavery with religion were interpreting, but that those who come after us would be wrong to assume the same of present day theists.

    – Schev

  4. Tory permalink
    March 17, 2009 5:00 pm

    I just couldn’t do it. I got through 6 minutes and had to give it up. I had to go bang my head on the way to make the pain stop.

  5. Mark permalink
    March 17, 2009 6:50 pm

    Slightly off-topic…

    I like the use of videos in a blog. Videos seem to lend support of a blogger’s views.
    Besides, who setup the rulebook on blogging? Some of us have to work you know. ;)

    • SuperJesus permalink
      March 26, 2009 7:54 pm

      I’m glad you like it, please stop by any time!

      Evangelically yours (in a completely heterosexual way)
      Super J.

  6. March 17, 2009 9:04 pm

    I also think dropping in the occasional video is good for a blog. And I like the new theme.

  7. March 17, 2009 10:51 pm

    I’m fine with other people using videos to help facilitate discussion, I enjoy watching videos on other blogs. I just feel that I should avoid that for now because I want to work on my writing skills and articulating how I feel through the written word.

    What I think is most sad about this video is that this woman may very well not believe the shit she is saying anymore, but she’s pretty much thrown her whole career in the dumpster and it can’t be recovered because of how much she’s said and done to impede the scientific community. She might have become illuminated to the ridiculous nature of the situation she’s in and she still has to give these interviews knowing she sounds like she’s mentally handicapped. That is a terrible thing. She can never get another non-creationist job. Unless she writes some phenomenal book on evolution.. then maybe..

    Then again, she could still be just as brainwashed as ever..

    • SuperJesus permalink
      March 26, 2009 7:57 pm

      Videos won’t overshadow your good writing, but it’s your blog and I’m just glad to have another friendly atheist voice chiming in out here.

      And thanks for the link!
      Super J.

      • March 26, 2009 10:49 pm

        Oh stop.. flattery will get you everywhere.

        All jokes aside, thanks a lot for the compliment! I am very happy to be able to share the WordPress stage along with you as well.

  8. March 20, 2009 4:44 am

    It blows my mind have far gone some people actually are. She needs everything she says to be true, because if one thing isn’t, nothing is. She is on the edge if anything. Sadly, most people can live their entire lives on the edge, especially if it is comfortable.

  9. Aspentroll permalink
    November 22, 2009 5:58 pm

    The picture of Shermer and Purdom at the start of the video tells it all for me.
    Without watching the vid, it is evident by her body language that she is not at ease with Shermer
    and she appears to be on the defensive.

    To admit she is wrong would be very difficult because she would have a lot to lose.

Comments are closed.

