Skip to content

Blog Update: Moving On Up

January 26, 2009

I want to take this opportunity to share some blog related stuff with my more regular readers. First of all, I just want to thank everyone who has come by and read what I write. If you haven’t done so yet, I’d love for you to leave comments. We can’t agree on everything so let me know where you think I’m wrong.

If you like what I’m writing why not subscribe to it via email or RSS? If you’ve subscribed to the RSS feed WordPress provides I’m going to kindly ask you to switch over to the FeedBurner RSS at the top right of the blog and below this paragraph.

http://feeds2.feedburner.com/SisyphusFragment

One of the reasons for that is that I’ve recently decided to man up and self-host this blog due to some good points made by A Division by Zer0 in his series about the subject. Another reason is that I want access to some better themes. Those of you subscribing to the FeedBurner feed will not see any interruption in service. My current plan is to switch the commenting system over to Intense Debate as well. If you have an experience in any of this and are willing to give advice/help shoot me an email through the address provided on my contact page, especially if the experience is with GoDaddy.

Mostly to brag, the blog has gotten over 6000 hits, almost 400 comments, and 22 subscribers via RSS. I know that’s nothing big compared to Pharyngula, but you have to start somewhere right?

Many thanks to everyone who has come by and added to the conversation so far!

3 Comments
  1. January 26, 2009 9:43 pm

    As a recent convert to Intense Debate, I am a huge fan. In fact, I commented that it was so easy and user friendly that I thought I was installing it wrong.

    Grats on the stats as well. I suggest you submit your posts to Reddit (atheist subreddit) to boost your hits. On an decent post (with a catchy title) I get upwards of 1500 hits in a 2 days span.

  2. Mythos permalink
    January 27, 2009 1:06 am

    That’s great that your blog is doing so well, congrats my friend! My laptop died on me (hence having to use the free hosted wordpress at the moment) but hopefully I will get a new laptop soon and then can follow in your footsteps to gain more benefits/options.

    “6000 hits, almost 400 comments, and 22 subscribers via RSS” is awesome bro, keep up the good work.

    Your friend,

    ~ Mythos
    http://mindofmythos.wordpress.com/

  3. February 13, 2009 4:44 pm

    Ah, ID, tried it, hated it like hell, removed it. I hope it’d work for you. Frankly, I’d put it back in if it weren’t for that dumb unremoveable “comment character restriction” and the fact that moderating ID comments is a never ending pain in the ass.

Comments are closed.

