Skip to content

We Atheists Win Out Anyway

January 22, 2009

After the Inauguration Day fuck up by Justice Roberts President Obama decided to retake his oath to avoid any issues that may have been presented later on by the tinfoil hat wearing group of Americans out there. It appears we atheists get the real oath of office just how we like it. President Obama didn’t take the oath with Lincoln’s Bible this time.

Before Wednesday’s second oath at the White House, Obama, waiting on a couch, joked that “we decided it was so much fun … ”

Though a Bible was used in Tuesday’s oath, one was not used for Wednesday’s.

After a flawless recitation, Roberts smiled and said, “Congratulations again.”

I’ve had strong suspicions that President Obama is a psuedo-Christian since his speech that explained how he came to his Christian faith.

My father, who I didn’t know, returned to Kenya when I was just two. He was nominally a Muslim since there were a number of Muslims in the village where he was born. But by the time he was a young adult, he was an atheist. My mother, whose parents were non-practicing Baptists and Methodists, was one of the most spiritual souls I ever knew. She had this enormous capacity for wonder, and lived by the Golden Rule. But she had a healthy skepticism of religion as an institution. And as a consequence, so did I.

[…]

It came about as a choice, and not an epiphany. I didn’t fall out in church, as folks sometimes do. The questions I had didn’t magically disappear. The skeptical bent of my mind didn’t suddenly vanish.

When I first heard this speech I thought to myself “If I had to pretend to be a Christian to run for office and I found it unpleasant to do so, this is how I would explain my faith.” So, I have my reservations about Obama’s faith, as does Hemant Mehta (The Friendly Atheist) and some other atheists. I don’t write this to sound like a loon; it is very possible that Obama is truly a Christian and I’m fine with that idea. Either way he’s a very reasonable man. But one can hope..

11 Comments
  1. January 22, 2009 1:14 pm

    I don’t know – all signs point to him being an atheist, but, obviously, in this current climate….it’d probably not be wise to.

  2. January 22, 2009 1:20 pm

    Even if he is atheist, is it necessarily a bad thing?

  3. January 22, 2009 1:24 pm

    Welcome sassy21, Of course it’s not a bad thing. I’m an atheist too! I would think it was great. But I am saddened that we’d have to pretend to be a Christian to be elected in the country..

  4. January 22, 2009 3:56 pm

    i have to pretend to be christian to avoid huge arguments with coworkers and family members! no way he would have been elected POTUS as an atheist.

    i’m leaning toward him being agnostic, but he’s certainly no a-hole for christ.

  5. January 22, 2009 4:15 pm

    Darn! You beat me to writing about this!! lol

    I completely agree with you about Obama and was very happy to see that he neither required nor requested a bible during the private swearing in ceremony.

    Personal Failure – this has to be the best description of Obama’s faith that I have seen thus far: “i’m leaning toward him being agnostic, but he’s certainly no a-hole for christ.”

  6. January 22, 2009 7:37 pm

    This is funny as I told my wife about a year ago that sometime in our lifetime (after Obama is out of office of course) Obama will come out as an atheist. He is too smart not to be one, and he understands all the foolish arguments in the Bible. No chance he would get elected as an atheist and it is much easier to pretend to be a Christian (look at all of them pretending in the US). I would offer that in his second term, if given an opportunity to come out, he could do so safely.

  7. Colloquy permalink
    January 26, 2009 3:47 pm

    DB took the words right out of my mouth – WITCHCRAFT!!
    ;-)

  8. propagandist101 permalink
    January 28, 2009 7:54 pm

    nice blog to visit. and sassy21, i agree, we have a free mind, there’s nothing wrong with atheism and exploring the fact and fiction about religion

  9. January 29, 2009 12:55 am

    Also, in his speech, Obama mentioned Jews, Muslims, Christians, and NON-BELIEVERS. Pretty big step from GWB Sr, who (and i quote) said “I do not consider atheists citizens. We are a nation under G-d..”

    Idiot.

  10. January 29, 2009 11:00 am

    I will admit that Obama’s realization that America is made up of both the faithful and the faithless is a step up from Bush(1). I don’t, however, feel that it’s good enough yet. We should praise Obama for his mention of us, yes, but we should not be in the streets rejoicing over it. Obama has the potential to unite the country or further divide us. Let’s see if we walks the walk.

  11. May 22, 2009 8:37 am

    I would wait and watch. Politicians(no matter how good) and Businessmen are master manipulators of the citizens/common folk. I will wait on the results, after all how bad could they get from where it is now.

    I would say he has appeared to be Sensible compared to what we had for the past 8 years.

Comments are closed.

