Skip to content

Why Are There So Many Atheist Bloggers?

October 30, 2008

Joey Nelson at Spiritual Questions Blog asks “Why are there so many atheism blogs?” He speculates that we are actually Christians who deny god and are trying to convince ourselves we’re right. That old “you know god’s real in your heart” kinda stuff. I decided to reply with why I blog. I wrote the reply on his blog but it is awaiting moderation and I felt this was worthwhile enough to post here on my own blog in case it doesn’t survive moderation.

The first little bit here is to show that claiming there are no true atheists is hypocritical for a Christian.

Psalm 14:1 clearly states that there are people who really don’t believe in your god, genuine non-belief.

There are a few reasons I personally blog. The first is the same reason you go to church, fellowship. 

Sure you go to church for worship, but also to enjoy the company of your fellow Christians. I blog to communicate with fellow atheists, we are far and few in between and the internet is a powerful way to interact with the rest of the atheist community.

I also blog so that my voice can be heard. Every day there are theists trying to subvert the separation of church and state in my countries government. I can’t just up and fly 1000 miles to protest those things at D.C. so I write about it to let the community know what is going on, maybe if enough of us write letters or hire lawyers and so on and so forth we can keep this country secular, as it was designed to be. Freedom of speech baby.

I blog to preach the good news. A lot of religion is based on fear, especially southern Baptists (hellfire and brimstone anyone?). However, people do not need to fear a god that doesn’t exist. I blog to spread reason and logic, because if I don’t, who will? If I don’t stand up for my own rights, who will? Will you stand up and fight to keep prayer out of schools for us atheists and their children? Will you fight to keep my taxes from being spent on religious programs such as abstinence only sex education?

Just to clarify; I don’t hate your god. I just haven’t found any proof that he exists, for the same reason that I don’t believe in Allah, Odin, or Santa.

Now my question for you: If we atheists blog because we are afraid of your god do you blog because you’re afraid of your god not existing?

There’s why I blog, sorta. So, why do you blog?

14 Comments
  1. October 30, 2008 10:44 am

    Dugg.

    I also blog as a way to work things out in my mind and record my findings. I guess you could call it doing a bit of online analysis. :)

  2. October 30, 2008 10:54 am

    That’s another great reason I blog. There really are a shit-ton of reasons I write but it’s hard to convey that in a blog comment that also isn’t a novel. I honestly don’t think that my comment is really going to change his mind about atheist bloggers, those types really aren’t into the truth of things. They are into securing their belief. “There couldn’t possibly be real reasons for someone not to believe in MY god!…could there?”

  3. October 30, 2008 11:08 am

    I blog about atheist related topics out of a desire to express some of the problems I experience being an atheist in a Christian society and to connect with other people who understand where I’m coming from.

    Atheists blogging can also help Christians understand us. Many Christians who are innocent of bigotry towards atheists are unaware that it exists as it doesn’t intersect with their world. The more people know about others the more they see them as individuals and people. This leads to people getting along better together.

  4. October 30, 2008 11:29 am

    I blog so that closet atheists can feel better about themselves and to overwhelm Christians with my brilliant logic. Well, mostly the former :)

  5. October 30, 2008 11:53 am

    Blogging definitely has an ego-related appeal to it as well. Who doesn’t love to get a little attention every now and then?

  6. October 30, 2008 3:48 pm

    I really appreciate your comments. I actually enjoy learning from atheist and so I appreciate you taking the time to answer the question (yes your comment is approved!). I have blogged quite extensively on this topic. If you would ever have time, take a look at a few of my other posts and please offer your feedback on those observations as well. You will always have a place at my table of dialog. The evidence of design is overwhelming though. We live on a visited planet – it’s as if it knew we were coming. Chance and accidental causes do not explain it. Intelligent Design is. There must be a God – otherwise life is absurd.

  7. notreallyalice permalink
    October 30, 2008 4:10 pm

    I’ve been blogging since around 1995. No joke. I started at diaryland.com, which still exists, but I have long forgotten my password and I am afraid all my old journals are gone.

    So yeah, being a blogger/writer came way before I was an atheist. Writing is one of the best forms of expressiong and collecting one’s thoughts. So perhaps the question isn’t “why are there so many atheist bloggers?” since there are a bazillion bloggers on every topic all over the damn place.

  8. October 31, 2008 12:58 pm

    There are a lot of atheist bloggers because there a lot of theist bloggers.

  9. November 3, 2008 4:32 pm

    Now my question for you: If we atheists blog because we are afraid of your god do you blog because you’re afraid of your god not existing?

    Damn. That was gonna be my line.

    Yep. I think they’re all blogging because deep down they know their beliefs are just fairy tales and they’re trying to convince themselves that it’s all true.

    You know… just to reiterate. ;)

  10. 1minionsopinion permalink
    December 4, 2008 9:54 pm

    I think I had a diaryland blog at one point too. I’d forgotten that.

    There are hundreds of atheist blogs and the ones I read daily all seem to hit the same points every day, but the more blogs that get going, the more perspectives there are on topics – not just atheist specific ones but for everything people tend to write about. Sure, our lack of belief might be evident by how or what we write but there isn’t one flavour of atheism any more than there’s one kind of religion.

    While we might be unified against organized religions, we’re destined to agree about everything else there is to write about. I think it’s useful to illustrate our variety with as many viewpoints as possible.

    I don’t know if I’m making any sense, so I’ll stop there.

  11. December 4, 2008 10:19 pm

    You are making perfect sense, 1minionsopinion. I personally feel every atheist should have a blog and every atheist should make an attempt to view and comment on other blogs. Because of how far apart most atheists are from each other, it’s important that we foster our online community as well as possible.

  12. Dave Weidner permalink
    December 7, 2008 11:55 pm

    Clearly, atheist bloggers are using the one vehicle that allows them to all connect. Before the internet, atheists had no way to actively network with like minded people. I think that this has hit critical mass. I mean look at all the new atheist groups popping up. And all of the christians are puzzled by this surge of doubt. They call it a fad, or just dismiss it because it is “cool” to be an atheist now. Kind of reminds me of the homosexual rights movement of the 70’s and 80’s. I guarantee that in 20 years, there will be so many atheists that it wont even be “fun” anymore. Who knows? Dare I say? Maybe we will even have an atheist president in our lifetime.

    • December 8, 2008 12:01 am

      Thanks for the comment, Dave. We can only hope for the best of all of that. I think that there will be influx of faithless politicians. Maybe they, with no ephemeral masters, will serve the interests of their electorate instead of the respective ghouls and ghosts.

Trackbacks

  1. One of the worst arguments against atheism - ever | anatheist.net

Comments are closed.

