Skip to content

Why Not Just Leave?

August 25, 2008

A while back, I had an amusing thought that I’d like to share with you.

Any rational mind is willing to admit that religion, and its destructive followers, aren’t going away anytime soon. There’s no telling how many atheists, agnostics, and freethinkers will be hurt or killed in our continuous fight for science and reason. Why don’t we just circumvent all of that? Let’s just leave. No, I don’t mean the country. Where would we go? We’re the last minority that it’s still acceptable to discriminate against. The whole planet hates us. I mean, why don’t we leave Earth?

According to a recent study, freethinkers are more intelligent than the pious. With this in mind I came up with my idea. So, we’re damn smart, persecuted, and pissed off about it right? In every movie what does the picked on nerd do? He gets even. I’m not suggesting anything malicious I’m suggesting something to organize around. We pack up and leave. All the atheists get together, all of the great minds behind our new movement (physicists, mathmaticians, biologists, etc.) collaborate together to create the pinnacle of our brillaince. We build spacecraft capable of interstellar travel and we jump in them and leave this place to rot in its own ignorance and stupidity. A portion of the Christian right would likely donate to our cause just to see us leave! Even if we didn’t succeed, the media attention from the attempt would help shed light on our movement and maybe help people realize they’d gotten a little crazy about this whole god thing. If we did succeed, now that would be something!

Atheists Fed Up With Backwards Planet Decide to Build Ship and Leave

Just a goofy idea I thought I’d share with you.

So what are your thoughts on this? What ways can you come up with to help further our movement that we aren’t already doing?

11 Comments
  1. travcav permalink
    August 26, 2008 9:30 am

    In zombie movies there’s hordes of mindless well zombies roaming around moaning and groaning and trying to make you one of them, but do the normal people leave? no they start chopping off zombie heads. I’m not saying we start killing. I’m saying we take back the country. get rid of the zombies and all their non stop moaning and groaning. We take a stand and say, “NO! you may not have my brain! I’m using it and you should start using yours too. And if you don’t stop trying to destroy my brain and start using yours then i may have to start taking drastic measures.” :)

  2. Sisyphus Fragment permalink*
    August 26, 2008 10:06 am

    In zombie movies something like 75% of the original characters trudging through the zombies die along the way. Nuke the planet from orbit, it’s the only way to be sure.

  3. travcav permalink
    August 26, 2008 1:07 pm

    twice just to be thorough

  4. vjack permalink
    August 30, 2008 3:39 pm

    Do you think it is true that the whole planet hates us? It sure seems that way in the U.S., but I’m not sure it would be the case in many other nations.

  5. Sisyphus Fragment permalink*
    August 31, 2008 2:24 am

    I think that there are more people who hate us than love us, and those in the middle don’t care if we are being burned and silenced.

  6. August 31, 2008 10:32 am

    Funny idea, reminds me of one of Heavens Gate cult “leaving” Earth behind…

    I say we fight and take back what is rightfully ours.

  7. odd permalink
    September 8, 2008 7:33 am

    odd what you suggest pretty much sums up the plot of the video game Bioshock, except instead of space, its the ocean, and its “after” the move, and the cities gone to shite when all the thinkers start to get there own ideas of what should be done..
    not to rain on it much as it’s a nice idea :)

    apparently it’s mostly based on atlas shrugged….

  8. September 16, 2008 12:48 pm

    I thought of leaving the country after reading your “The Righteous Right” post. I have about a dozen people ready to leave if McCain gets elected. If you can build your spaceship before then, we’ll be happy to leave the planet instead.

  9. Sisyphus Fragment permalink*
    September 16, 2008 4:08 pm

    A friend of mine and myself are strongly considering leaving the country if McCain gets elected as well. If we are recalled back into military service (we’re both inactive-reserve) to go to war with Iran you bet your ass we’ll be heading for Europe..

  10. September 23, 2008 10:55 am

    I am living abroad right now, was hoping to come back to the U.S. in about a year.

    I will be very hesitant to do so if McCain is elected. It wouldn’t be the end of the world, but it would be continuing in the wrong direction and I believe things would just continue to get worse.

    And what vjack said: most of Europe, it seems, is a lot more tolerant towards atheism. It is pretty much the norm here.

  11. atheistproject permalink
    October 26, 2008 6:37 pm

    As far as “advancing the movement” goes, I believe that education must anchor the entire enterprise. This is why it’s important to keep creationism/ID out of the schools (along with that Constitution thing). I believe many people fail to understand how powerful a tool is the scientific method. The more they learn about it and see its results for themselves, the sooner they will see how blatantly the God Hypothesis defies the available evidence.

    That said, I caution against any attempt to talk of atheism or secularism as a “movement” that needs “advancing”. One of my primary objections against Christianity and Islam is their aggressive proselytization, their insistence that everyone conform to their standards. I would hate to see atheism – which, as I’ve argued elsewhereis defined negatively against theism rather than positively in its own terms – succumb to a club mentality and become a new platform for coercion of any kind.

Comments are closed.

