Skip to content

Who Am I?

August 22, 2008

I was born and raised in a small conservative town in southern Missouri. Ninety-nine percent of the counties population was white and locals preferred it that way. Early on, I wasn’t exposed to much religion, my parents were Baptists but never went to church. I had a great love for science and the natural world, I wanted to be a scientist, which my parents loved.

When my parents separated when I was 8 (divorce wasn’t necessary, I’m a bastard), my father married a Seventh Day Adventist. She started making me go to their local church and thus began my religious experience. My mother starting dating a verbally abusive Evangelical not too long after so when I wasn’t missing out on Saturday morning cartoons I was experiencing the “joy” of people speaking in tongues and wailing all sorts of things.

By the time that my parents had decided to inundate me with Jesus it was too late. If I had ever been capable of faith it had long since left me. I accepted the fact that a god existed because the society around me treated it as though it was fact. I didn’t know about other religions beyond the very simple explanations I saw on the Discovery Channel. That being said, I never prayed or tried to speak to Jesus or any other mythical being.

As I grew older and learned more about science and technology the more god didn’t add up. In high school I was having a discussion with a friend and mentioned that I wasn’t sure whether a god existed or not. He said “Oh! you’re an agnostic” I had never heard the term before and had to look it up in a dictionary. I used that descriptor until I discovered atheism a little later.

After I graduated from high school in 2004 I immediately joined the U.S. Air Force. I was very into technology by then and wanted to become a software developer. I came into the AF a somewhat still close-minded Republican hick. This last May I came out of the AF as a liberal Secular Humanist. During my four years in the military I learned a lot about how the real world works and how corrupt my government has really become. I’m a very big patriot but I think America has done some pretty bad things in the last decade that we need to atone for.

Along the way through my enlistment I met a lot of good people and managed to pick up a pretty amazing girlfriend, she’s a Domican national, but she is enlisted in the AF until 2009. We’ve been together for over two years. She’s currently persuing U.S. citizenship which I fully support. About a year and a half ago I flew down to Dominica to meet her family, first time I had left my own country. Dominica is a very beautiful country, but the road system is terrible. Oh, and she’s Catholic, how about that? A Catholic and an atheist, who woulda thought that would work?

I’m going to assume this is enough info for now, if anyone has any questions about me you can ask in the comments or email me.

10 Comments
  1. August 22, 2008 8:19 am

    Welcome to the atheosphere! Glad to see you dropped the stuffy “colse-minded Republican hick” label lol.

  2. Sisyphus Fragment permalink*
    August 22, 2008 10:02 am

    Thanks! I’m very glad as well! I’ve grown so much since I left my small minded hometown.

  3. August 22, 2008 3:15 pm

    And another heart-felt Welcome from another atheist veteran.

  4. August 25, 2008 3:35 pm

    Found you via my friend Possummomma. I grew up Catholic and my parents divorced when I was 8. My dad got custody of me. He was in the Air Force too, as a flight instructor, but flew reconnisaince (sp?) before I was born. He remarried a woman from hell…stepmom from hell, I should say. Anyway, I too, through all the masses I went to as a Catholic school girl, never prayed, because I knew no one was listening.

  5. Sisyphus Fragment permalink*
    August 25, 2008 4:17 pm

    Vamp: Thanks for visiting and commenting! The important thing is that we made it out with our brains intact!

  6. August 26, 2008 5:54 pm

    Hey, I recognize that face… Welcome back! Great to hear your back story. I am married to a Catholic. He doesn’t practice much any more, but I did get married in a catholic church..while I was an atheist. :-D

  7. Sisyphus Fragment permalink*
    August 26, 2008 6:11 pm

    Shhhhh. I’m not me anymore.. lol

  8. August 27, 2008 9:02 pm

    Oh I promise not to tell where I know you from. ;)

  9. September 23, 2008 10:50 am

    Very nice to meet you!

    I’ll definitely be tuning in for more.

  10. Sisyphus Fragment permalink*
    September 23, 2008 11:22 am

    Thanks, Amiable, I’ll be looking forward to your comments!

Comments are closed.

